"Jesus said to him, 'I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.'" – John 14:6

Reminders to start. (love)

A reminder. I need them all the time. 

– I will need one to wake up

– I will need one to make a phone call

– I will need one to get to work on time

– I will need one to remember to send a birthday card

– I will need one to go grocery shopping

I could probably continue this list of items that I will need reminders for, but I can’t remember everything right now. Kind of ironic I think. The truth is that I actually don’t have a note written down somewhere that is actually reminding me, although maybe I should, of all these reminders. For example, while making this list I remembered that I am pretty much out of food and need to go shopping, but I am not going to write a note for myself. I will be reminded whether I write a note or not. However, it would be better for me to write a note because the only other way I am going to remember is when I go to cook dinner there will be nothing to cook with. This is not really the best way to remember things In fact it it is the worst way, because then I have to go out to the grocery store. What is funny is that I will probably use this kind of reminder several times before I actually go shopping. It is like being hit over the head every time…you need food…you need food….you need food. You get the point. Then there are a few things on this list that I definitely have reminders for, like what time I need to go to work. My point is there are different things in my life that are necessary reminders for me, whether they are planned or not. Sometimes they are the hunger pains and the annoyance of not having food in the frig again and sometimes it is the simple alarm going on off on my phone. Some are occasional and some are routine.

Daily I have been reminded of my need to be in the presence of Jesus in order to strengthen my relationship with Him, and that is something that I try to work on and remind myself, with the help of nudges from God and friends. But this week God has been reminding me of His love for me, His love for others and His desire to use me to love others. This is not one of those things that I wrote down on my calendar to remember, but it was something God has been reminding me off occasionally throughout the week. It has come up for me at work, at church, with friends, with strangers, and in my time in the Bible. So instead of me trying to write a mouthful more of my own confusing words on this page, I am going to write down what God says about the subject of love in the book of 1st Corinthians in chapter 13.

If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but do not have love, I have become a noisy gong or a    clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy, and know all mysteries and all knowledge; and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. And if I give all my possessions to feed the poor, and if I surrender my body to be burned, but do not have love, it profits me nothing.

 

Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered,  does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth;  bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

 

Love never fails; but if there are gifts of prophecy, they will be done away; if there are tongues, they will cease; if there is knowledge, it will be done away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part; but when the perfect comes, the partial will be done away. When I was a child, I used to speak like a child, think like a child, reason like a child; when I became a man, I did away with childish things. For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face; now I know in part, but then I will know fully just as I also have been fully known. But now faith, hope, love, abide these three; but the greatest of these is love.”

 

Also in the book of 1st John chapter 4 verses 7 & 8.

“Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love.”

 

~~~~~

Thank you Jesus that You remind me of Your love for me despite where I am at and what I have done or not done. I am thankful that You are there to support me during hurts and pains, joys and happiness. I am also thankful that you work in my life when things are going well, but also in those times that I mess up or life seems to be hitting me over the head with lemons, that You are molding and shaping me into the good work that You created me to be! (Philippians 1:6) Help me to love You in part by loving everyone around me. I struggle doing that sometimes and I ask that You would forgive me for when I do not, but that You would also teach me how to do it better. Amen.

-chad

Leave a Reply

